Coffee Sonnet I

(Derived from Shakespeare’s sonnet 1; I don’t think he’ll mind too much, to be honest…)

From fairest cafes we desire caffeine,

That thereby wakefulness may never die,

But ripen as it should all through the morn,

Decline and decease by virtue of time;

But coffee, costly though it may well be,

Feed’st my life’s flame with self-substantial fuel,

Making a life where death dies within me,

Coffee and addiction… my foes, so cruel…

But thou art the world’s fresh gift of amor,

And only herald to my swift heartbeat

Within my prison of ribs burying light

And, tender cuppa, waste here not a drop

For it is needed for life and love here

So drink;- the morning’s due and school draws near.

Leave a Reply

