Coffee Sonnet 2

When forty exams shall besiege me now,

And dig deep trenches in my youth’s field,

My mind’s proud addiction will harken now,

Coffee will save my grades, my mind will yield!

Then being asked questions I know not,

My mind shall know all this treasure and more,

And I may yet pass and show how I’ve fought

Through the haze of papers and the coffee-gore.

I’ll earn a place at a university

If I should open my results- four A’s!

This would be a nice change from the gritty

And yes, caffeine-induced studious craze

But alas, it’s three D’s and a U. Fuck.

Guess for life I’d rather clean out horse muck.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

