Helen Coxon

I was 24 years old

When I met the woman I would call my own

Don’t need no grandkids now, we are growing old

In the house where her mum disowned her.

‘Twas a summer day when we eloped,

She took my hand, baby I was hooked

And I asked her father,

Her daddy said, ‘She’s hetero,’

‘You can’t marry my daughter!’

.

She and I went on the run

Don’t care about religion

I’m gonna marry the woman I love,

And God loves every-one

She was Helena Coxon,

I was Mary ‘Who-Again?’

She took my heart and then we were one;

-‘Cause God loves every-one

.

Well, I met her in a pub in two-thousand-three,

And she was sippin’ a port just lookin’ at me-

Never had I seen such beauty before,

The moment that I saw her.

Helen was my rainbow rose,

As we took off all our clothes…

We fell in love, and it’s been told,

We found don’t need no rings of gold!

.

She and I went on the run

Don’t care about religion

I’m gonna marry the woman I love

Cause love knows no borders.

She was Helen Coxon,

I was Mary Who-Again,

We fell in love and then had some fun,

‘Cause God loves everyone!

.

Throw a snow-white streak in that short-cut-hair,

Over sixty years I’ve been lovin’ her

Now we’re sat by the fire in our old armchairs

You know Helen I adore ya.

.

From a small-town girl in a Catholic town

I’m never worried on the hallowed ground

‘Cause it’s love that wears Gods crown-

We’ve no fear, I assure ya!

.

She and I don’t have to run,

Or care about religion

I’ve just married the woman I love,

And God loves everyone!

I’m happy wed to Helen Coxon,

‘Cause we’re in love, I’ve found my one;

And God loves everyone

So how could love be wrong?

.

.

.

.

(NOTE: Not trying to be anything like Ed Sheeran over here. Nancy Mulligan is completely his intellectual property, I just bent the lyrics a bit. (Not even my puns are straight, see?) I just really enjoyed Nancy Mulligan and then this came to me after 5 cups of espresso and 3 hours of sleep. Hope you enjoyed.)

Leave a Reply

