Be My Poem

Be my poem and we can show them

There’s more to life than magic carpet rides

Taken through rolled-up skies

.

Be my poem and it could all just be,

Life’s not too long or too short-

It’s a small, tall and stately bottle of port.

.

Be my poem and you shall be more than just words,

You shall know my punctuation- my stops and pauses

All my adverbs and sub-clauses.

.

Be my poem and there will be critics;

If you think it’s worth the red ink that’s sure to spill,

Then give it a think, if you will.

.

Be my poem and there will be little rhythm;

If that’s what you’re into then I’m afraid you’re two to too many syllables  down and out.

But if you like the rhymes then do them with me, and we can find what we’re all about.

.

Be my poem and plain sailing weather may be the case, or another storm for us to face

But I don’t take kindly to being left alone and neither do you

I saw you and you saw me alone in that crowded room, so we know it’s true.

.

Be my poem and we will know our words

And never be stuck to leapfrog from one to the next

And never again keep our literary muscles flexed.

.

Be my poem and I’m sorry if it sounds desperate, but someone has to be

But we both know that things end badly when they don’t begin

And good ideas look promising before they turn to sin.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I really liked this. Nice twist at the end.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I really love your blog too, haha…!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

