The Pauper’s Litany

Don’t call me a writer, or a poet.

This comes easy to some people. They get to own it.

Not me.

I sit down at my keyboard and bleed.

Red words and too much of a single pulsing idea-

That’s not what you want to hear.

Don’t call me your idol or your hero.

I’ve calculated that road and it adds up to zero.

I’m not a hero. They get up and go to work every day-

I sit down at my keyboard and don’t know what to say.

Silence is golden apart from when you have bills to pay;

-But that’s not what you want to hear.

Don’t call me a genius or even vaguely smart.

I don’t even know how to spell the word ‘art’.

These are not words, and this is not a poem.

I bet when I hit ‘delete’… That will show them.

Leave a Reply

